Dyson on front page again?

I know this thread has been around before, but as Dyson’s “new invention” is featured on BusinessWeek, and so it makes me cringe again.

This product typology, and even the same form factor has been around for years in asia, where is the big innovation? am I missing something or is he cashing on an imported idea?

Don’t get me wrong, I thoroughly respect the guy, with the moving story of the bagless vacuum cleaner and all, but this does make me cringe.

http://www.channel4.com/news/articles/science_technology/hand%20dryer%20dispute/170040

Perhaps just like the vacuum cleaner it’s a case of doing it better than it’s been done before.

Fair enough then, please enlighten me.
Again, where is the big innovation? (in the vacuum cleaner it was clear, doesn’t loose suction).

I’m no expert on this product but I would guess the fact it doesn’t use heated air makes it much more ‘green’ than the dryers in Asia, very important in this day and age.

Perhaps it’s not about massive innovation steps, just small incremental steps, like I said doing something better than it’s been done before.

Totally agree, but check this out:

Businessweek:
" This test of James Dyson’s latest invention is anything but scientific, but it’s pretty convincing. You immerse your hands in water, shake them, and then dip them into the curvaceous opening at the top of a sleek, gray hand dryer mounted on the wall that looks like some sort of high-tech fingerprint reader. Infrared sensors trip the “on” switch, and intense jets of air squeegee the moisture off your hands as you slowly draw them out. Elapsed time: 12 seconds, less than half the time taken by conventional machines. And your mitts are dry. No need for the traditional wipe-on-pants move."

Not being touted as a small incremental step, but a novel invention.

be clear on what he has accomplished.