Domus Academy '09/CAD experience?

I was just accepted into DA Masters of Design program for Product Design. Is anyone else here attending? I’m on a roommate/housing quest, but it would be great to get to know some people, regardless.

Also, does anyone have any advice for someone going into product design with very little CAD/3-d modelling experience? I graduated BFA in Sculpture and took one class with Rhino. I’m trying to get the hang of it on my own in the meantime, but I’m still a little intimidated going into Grad school with so little modelling experience. I can, however, wield a hammer and saw… something tells me thats not quite going to cut it… :unamused:

Thanks!

Hi there,

I’m currently a student in the master of design course 08. As with all design graduate schools, a minimum “can do” knowledge of sketching, 2D (photoshop, illustrator) and 3D(rhino or whatever else program you are good with) skills would be very helpful indeed.

A minimum “can do” as you will probably meet a lot of people from the international scene as is the case in Domus Academy and you will probably get a lot of chances to sharpen your skills from there as long as you put a lot of effort.

One important note is in the master of design course for Domus Academy, flash is used for all presentation material, so maybe if you have some time on your hands, it’ll be great to start sharpening up all the stuff i mentioned above and flash as well.
The first half of the year will be spent in at least 5 group projects, so if you start working on your skills, then when you get here, you can contribute to the group work and improve yourself from there as well.
Good call to ask and if I can assist you in anyway regarding any other questions regarding anything, pls don’t hesitate to ask! Ciao~!

I appreciate the insight! Thank you also for the information about Flash, its nice that I can know what to expect. I guess I need to get busy :slight_smile: What are you planning on doing after you graduate?