Does anyone have a BSID + MDes?

OK, I know that I’m putting myself in the line of fire for posting this but I haven’t found any threads addressing the issue. I’m not looking to be blasted for wasting my time/money and don’t want to hear ‘you only need a masters if you want to teach’ comments (obviously I’ve heard them before;).

That being said, I am a practicing designer and have been accepted to the University of Cincinnati’s Master of Design program. I hold a B.S. of industrial design from Virginia Tech and currently hold a senior industrial designer position at a consultancy. Upon accepting the offer, I would be a part-time student and working fulltime as a designer.

I am encouraged to pursue the master’s degree for several reasons:

1. UC’s design school is highly reputable and would give my educational background more clout
  2. It would be a light(er) financial burden because my employer offers a tuition reimbursement program
  3. I would be forced to study those issues in design that we don’t have time to address in the short-term relationships of consultant life
  4. The program offers flexibility to design your curriculum – i.e. electives in business, etc.
  5. Teaching ID would be an option… some day

Though not necessary for practicing, I am convinced it is a winning proposition and could only benefit my career and add value to my design process. My post-graduation plan would involve transitioning to a corporate position focused on innovation/strategy/research – long-term, brand-building principles that only a corporation can address in depth.

My questions for the forum are the following:

1. Does anyone here have both undergrad and graduate degrees in ID?
  2. If so, how has it changed the way you practice design? How has it enabled your career?
  3. Also, can anyone comment on UC’s Master of Design program from experience?

Thanks.