Does a school's location play a factor in landing a job?

I’m a high school student searching for schools for ID and was wondering how much of a role a school’s location plays in landing a job or internship.
Thanks,
Ilan

Hi Ilan,

It might seem like a trivial thing but it can help. A school will likely pull in visiting instructors, lecturers, critics from the pool of local professionals. So this will help expose you to possible job opportunities and networking. The school’s alumni network is also likely strongest in that region.

Other things are factors as well of course. When I was at Nike we always had Art Center and University of Cincinnati interns because those schools career relations departments worked hard to have a great relationship with the company. Neither were in the Pacific NorthWest. Yet there were two ID schools in Seattle we almost never had interns from (at the time, not sure if it is different now).

Agreed. Unfortunately location does matter to some degree, but it’s not everything. If you’re dripping with talent and have some ambition, you’ll find a gig regardless, but it’s usually easier to come across work if you’re near a design hub. I worked in Chicago for a while and the majority, but not all, of the interns were from Indiana, Michigan, and Ohio schools.