Do I have what it takes (to apply to design school)?

OK, i’m in a VERY strange position and I really hope that some of you may be able to help. in short, i’m 25 yrs old, i have a MA in History of Art from the U of St Andrews in Scotland, but have always wanted to pursue industrial design/ furniture making. i’ve finally decided to take matters into my own hands and apply this fall to the school i’ve always dreamed about attending, RISD. the problem (well, the first problem) is that I don’t really know if i’m qualified. I know that I’m amazingly creative and inventive and can express my concepts (for furniture, product design, etc) verbally and, in many cases visually with models or something of the sort, but i’m not an amazing artist/ illustrator so my ‘portfolio’ may not be as impressive as less creative/more artistic individuals (to be honest, i still don’t really understand how a portfolio can/ needs to be set up, what should go in, what should be excluded, how things need to be photographed, etc) my second problem is that I’m a poor 25 yr old selling just enough mid century furniture to make a living ( PasternakAntiques.blogspot.com) so i’m afraid of the possibility of getting into the school i’ve always dreamed of and then not having the $ to pay for it. I really don’t want to take out student loans, so my only real option (that i know of) is grants and scholarships and i honestly don’t know how many would be available to someone 7 yrs out of high school.
i look forward to your responses!
Jeremiah

Nice chairs, but I kinda don’t like how you took your inspiration from them and basically changed the material of the original. (Just my perspective).