Do good engineers need to be good salsepeople?

There an interesting thread happing at http://forum.cadtalent.com/index.php?showtopic=14&pid=20&mode=threaded&show=&st=&#entry20 and I wanted to see what your opinion was. Essentially, can you be a good engineer without being good at sales?

SPAM

DO NOT OPEN

Mmmm Kay … Did’nt think you could put put spam into a hyperlink. The link is to a discussion board, which my annonymous friend appears to think is spam, so I’ll just add the entire discussion here for people to look at, which, presumably, is not spam? Here’s the meat of the discussion. The question is whether being good at engineering is more important than being good at selling yourself as an engineer:

[Kellyo:]

In looking for entry level positions Mechanical Engineering positions I get a lot of advice to cold call companies and use “sales skills”.

Does this kind of thing frustrate anyone else? I am not a saleswoman, I am an engineer, and very good at it. I did’nt spend the last 4 years learning sales b/c I was busy learning to be an engineer. Why, then, is it so important for me to learn sales to get an engineering job?

Communications skills are important. However “communicating my abilities” should not need to be the same thing as doing a good sales pitch.

[samiam:]

Kelly,

I used to feel the same way as you. I hated cold calling! But I applied my skills as an engineer to solve problems, and one of them was to learn to sell. Eventually I got comfortable with it and being able to pitch projects to the execs helped me move up the ranks.
User is offlineProfile CardPM

[Kelly:]
I know that, but thats frustrating! Would I not be more valuable to an employer if I spent the time learning sales learning how to, say, be an engineer instead?

– what I’m getting at is whats more important, sales skills or engineering?