designers who get MBAs...

there are lots of pros and cons out there for its value to a designer. A lot of people here seem to believe that it is the key to money, power, and happiness, while the Rita Sue Seigles say its not as important as strategic apprenticeships.

personally, I’ve seen good designers start the programs, decide it wasnt for them, and go back to design.

I would like to hear about any real preccedents for designers that get MBAs and go on to sucessful design leadership positions. If it is such sure thing, there should be plently of examples out there…

I looked at the MBA option but I wasn’t crazy about the risk, I’m studying for entry into law school now.

I can understand your question Travisimo, but I don’t know if the answer to it will get you any further though. Strategic design is only just emerging in the business. Until now everything depended mainly on marketing and engineering, and people with this background made it to executive positions where strategies were formed. We as designers have much to owe to Apple freeing the way for us. It is now that business starts to understand the value of design, not only as “surfacing of the product” but on all levels of the business.

So IMO it’s no use to take reference of the past not even what’s going on now, we are going through a paradigm shift here. Look at what sort of opportunities might be created in the future. Will there be a market for designers with MBA’s? I’m sure. If it’s not designers that take up the challenge, then it will be marketers who will get the designskills too when doing their MBA in strategic design management.

Doing an MBA takes at least a year of preparation, plus another one, or two do do the thing, so we’re talking anyway about the business market in a few years from now. A lot of things will have changed by then. Now it’s up to us to decide how big the risk is of investing into an MBA, and if we want to take it…