Designer vs. Engineer...I need resources!

I am an industrial designer doing a master course in interactive design.

I am working on a reflection paper, and my reflection is about the struggle of a industrial designer (me) in a multidisciplinary teams (engineers, anthropology…).

I want to reflect on my role as a designer, how it understood or mis-understood, the clashes of minds the fluffiness of design vs the hard science of engineering.

The role of the designer is shifting, the lines are blurring, we are not just form designers, we have something more to offer, right?

But as a designer (aren’t designer’s like that:) I have difficulty with literature, finding the right references, something to read to open my mind about this subject.

Other sources than The Reflective Practitioner by D. Schön I have very little to build on, so I come to you for help.

If you could point me in any direction, or to sources that would be super.

…Really?

:slight_smile: I am afraid so, that’s what they tell me

First who is “they” and why are you listening to them? If you think design is fluffy in anyway you have a lot of reading to do before you can write your paper. Search other threads there are tons of books listed that could help you. Also there is a handy books link at the top of the page you are looking at right now.

If you yourself still believe that design is fluffy, then you haven’t read enough of those ‘why design is important and valid’ books. There are tons of books out there to support your case. Here’s one: “The Design of Everyday Things” by Donald Norman, I think. I’m sure there are threads on core77 that will provide you with more comprehensive lists.