Designed website layout...How do I get it to work?

I’ve been designing layouts for my portfolio website…But how do I get it to work? I have no experience with coding and don’t have a clue where to even start. What program do you use? What site do you get your domain from? I don’t want to sign up for a site where I have to choose a template. I want the site to look/work like my layouts and have a personal domain name…help.

Thanks

First step is to purchase a domain name if you don’t have one already.

If you don’t feel like spending the money, you can always join sites like cargocollective.com that will host a domain name for you (and don’t require you to use a template).

Learn your basic html/css (this will not be a quick and dirty step, learning proper web coding techniques does take time and patience). You can start with the tutorials on nettuts.com and smashingmagazine.com which are extremely helpful. Also - and warning this website looks like a 13 yr-old girl’s- lissaexplains.com is actually a VERY good website to understand basic code structure and web elements.

For programs, skip Dreamweaver (that will leave you in tears) and just try a basic text editing software. I personally use Coda, which has been the best html/css editor for me. You can really use anything though, even Textedit.

Smashingmag also has a list of the best WYSIWYG (what you see if what you get) editors which might be up your alley since you don’t have coding experience: 20 Useful WYSIWYG Editors Reviewed — Smashing Magazine (ignore the dreamweaver part)

You can go to a collective web hosting company for ease of use, if you have no coding experience or predilection for writing code, this may be the ideal step. The template can be adjusted to your own style a lot quicker than learning all needed to make a website from scratch.