Design Prototyping Advice

Hi All,

I’m relatively new to the core forums and have been learning alot from just from reading some of the discussions. I’m a second yr industrial design student and in need of some advice. I feel I am good at generating various concepts through sketching however I sometimes have trouble developing those concepts to a 3d form. Whether that’s prototyping through CAD or hand modelling. I feel my technical skills are not strong enough to support my ideas. I just wanted to know If anyone experiences this frustration? and what things you can do, to develop your skills in this area? Are there any things I could be doing outside my course to sharpen these skills? as I am looking for placements this summer and it will hold me back.

Thank you

Build build build. Everything expands with practice.

The single most important design show I have seen was the prototype model work of Konstantin Grcic.

It was virtually all cardboard models. The immediacy of the material, the ability to build a form of significant size for next to nothing with cardboard, a knife and glue was eyeopening. Everything from a sofa to a series of Krups mixers, forms explored fast and lots of iterations.

Build cheap, build fast, build to throw away. Styrofoam and a hot wire. Cardboard. Put the emphasis on rapid form as opposed to trying to make a presentation model.

Hi, thanks for the advice, I’m desperately trying to improve my skills in this area. Do you know of any good books, videos etc?.

Check out Jude Pullens various videos

http://www.judepullen.com/designmodelling/techniques/

I’m the complete opposite in that I excel in prototyping/developing in 3D where as my sketching is often lacking.