Design of a School Workspace

Hello,
I am a student in my 4th and final year of study towards a degree in Product Design. I am almost two months into my thesis project and have to make some important decisions very soon.

I am hoping that some of the members of this site can provide me with some opinions, information, guidance or suggestions for my project. It would help a lot.

This is an excerpt from my thesis proposal which details the need and purpose of this project:

The reassessment, redesign and modernization of the classroom ‘desk and chair’.

The classroom attempts to provide a safe environment where learning can take place uninterrupted by other distractions. This environment requires furniture forms used for reading, writing, computer usage or other class activities. As with any furniture and seating which is used for prolonged lengths of time, a classroom desk and chair should maximise user comfort and efficiency, as well as creativity and productive learning.

Research has shown that on a day-to-day basis, children and teenagers spend just as much (if not more) time seated at school desks than their parents do at their office desks. Unlike office furniture, school furniture is usually hard, uncomfortable and does not cater for children’s ergonomic needs at a time in their life when there are large differences in their anthropometric measurements - especially during puberty.

In classrooms across the world, students spend untold hours sitting at these desks and tables working on their lessons and listening to their teachers. This lack of movement might not have been a concern in the past when children’s time away from school was typically spent outdoors playing and exercising but in the last ten years we have seen the huge rise in popularity of computer gaming consoles, with children preferring these games to active ones.