Design in Montreal

I am a Senior Designer moving to Montreal in the next few months and am curious about the state of the industry. All government controversies aside - how would you describe it? Thriving? Floundering? Improving?

My French language skills are moderate at best - how much of a handicap do you think that will be to get my foot in the door of a potential new employer?

Is there an overabundance of freelance designers or are most of the talent permanently employed?

Is there an area of Montreal (other than downtown) in which a large portion of the design firms are located? What areas of Montreal would you recommend to avoid living in?

Any information/opinions/advise on the industry and moving to Montreal would be greatly appreciated.

I would like to know a little more info about your situation before getting too detailed, but I’ll let you know what I know.

Depending on how “senior” you are really effects your situation. If you have really good experience on your resume I’m sure you will get a job pretty easily, even without french. As manufacturing is rare here you are generally dealing with manufacturers that speak english. That leaves sales and dealing with clients as your other area of communication and typically business people here speak english fluently even if it is their second language.

From what I have experienced and heard freelancing is basically the largest design employer here and in most of Canada. Companies are just so shoestringed and scared of risk full time employees in design are a bit rarer than in the states. My only jobs here have been freelance.

Design firms and companies that hire designers are everywhere in Montreal. I can’t really tell you where the best place is. In fact I don’t think there are that many in downtown due to high rents.