Design generations

I thought it would be a really cool topic to put out there on how many of us have designers in our family that the talents and thoughts that were passed down and caused you to be a designer yourselves. I have to admit that my father is an accountant and my mother was an executive assistant but my grand father could build anything with his hands. This was a bit of a struggle when it came time for me to explain to my dad what ID was when I decided to go off to college.Now I am a designer and my sister is an art teacher. A bit weird if you ask me.

No designers in the family but a lot of musicians!

My family could not understand why I wasn’t going to be an engineer. No Designers in my family. A high school art teacher told me about design.

Was born left-handed, so I had no choice but to be different. Was always an artist so the design aspect just came along.

As for family members, none.

Dad is an accountant of some sort, mom is a grade school teacher. Mom however has always been creative, painting, sculpting etc, but no other creatives in that sense in earlier family generations.

However, both totally understood and supported my choice of studies.

(Sister went in to lawschool, brother sailing professional and coach, and me in ID. So quite a broad spectrum of work.)

Sounds exactly like my situation. My Dad used to be an engineer (now sales/marketing… go figure), and my mom was basically a professional secretary. No one really had any creative talents outside of music. Of course I did also get a great set of analytical skills, which helps me immensely,