Design Edu in US vs Europe.

Following up on my passion for Textile Design, I applied to 3 schools in the UK (Winchester School of Art (WSA)- Southampton univ, School of Textile and Design- Heriot Watt Univ and Birmingham Institute of Art and Design (BIAD)- UCE) and one in the US ie RISD for Masters in Textile Design beginning this fall. I’ve been accepted at them all. Incidently, I am a fashion designer based in India.

Much wohoos later, time’s come to decide which one to take up. The collective wisdom of my design school Profs, friends, myself included points toward RISD because of its faculty, course content, reputation, network, proximity to NY/Boston. It’s ace.

Given my limited financial resources, further studies abroad was anyday an expensive proposition, however, RISD is PROHIBITIVELY expensive. The school has offered TA but amounts to insignificant li’l peanuts. Scary doesn’t even begin to describe how taking a $ 80k loan feels like. My nightmares lately have been dollar tinted.

The UK state of funding is a bit of a breeze-
-Heriot watt, Scotand. I’ve won a scholarship that would fully fund education, living plus travel to Scotland. The school, an hour away from Edinburgh, is an 186 year old intitution.Scotland itself is steeped in textile history. Hearsay feedback- too far from London and the ‘real’ action.

WSA- partial funding- living and tuition for half of the program tenure. Advantage- An hour away from London, so one gets to see exhibitions, museums, fashion shows etc

BIAD, Birmingham- partial funding again.

A lot of people that I’ve spoken with also seem to think that for textiles Europe would be a far enriching experience than the US because of its textile traditions and contemporary fashion. Any takers?