Design Career Question

Hello, I am new to the boards, and I’m looking for some help/guiding to my career future. Sorry if this is in the wrong section, it can be moved/locked.

Well, I am a 15 year old student. I am very interested in becoming a footwear designer in the future. Specifically, a shoe designer for a big name company such as Nike and Jordan Brand. I am also interested in graphics/web design, and architecture. These 3 career paths all interest me.

My question is, what classes and preparation should I be doing right now to try to pursue a career like those? I am a naturally good drawer, I cannot draw people well, but I can draw/paint abstract art very well, same with animals. I am also a very good graphics/web designer, I am a freelance designer. Should I be taking classes in high school such as visual arts and stuff?

Also, what are the odds of me of having a career as a footwear designer, architect, or graphics designer? What are the average salaries of all 3 career jobs?

If anyone is interested, here are my online portfolios for my graphics design stuff.

hwpgfx.netfirms.com

Thank you for your help.

I would start by following the example of AK47Celtics. He’s your age, and he designs something, gets feedback, and does it again.

Doing, anything, will be far more valuable than taking a class.

well put.

yup, best advice is to draw, keep an eye out in the industry for trends, new innovation, brands, etc. go shopping for shoes and go back to the same shop looking for different things (ie. one time thinking about color, one time thinking about construction, one time thinking about logos, etc.). get any old shoes you can (friends, family) and chop them up with an exacto (be careful!) to see how they are made.

sketch, draw, and think!

you have a much earlier start in your interest than many pro footwear designers. use it. get as deep and broad as you can to fill your mind with anything and everything you can think of.

R

So just keep on sketching?