Dell Mobile Precision M6300 or HP8710w

Hello there,
I’m new to laptops and I’m in the market to purchase a laptop and I’m trying to decide between the Dell Mobile Precision M6300 or HP8710w

Please Check out
http://h20386.www2.hp.com/CanadaStor...ABA&lang=en-CA
it is for a T9500 and it does not seem to give a final price

Both machines can come with the same configurations

Main difference is a full size keyboard and the screen 1920 x 1200(with the HP)

both seem to be in the price range of $2,200CDN

would you have any suggestions based on experience with these laptops , which laptop would be a preferred laptop

I need to also run solidworks and AliasStudio

Any suggestions about your experiences with these laptops would be great

thanks

Dekapp

I run the smaller (15") version of the HP at work. Been happy with it so far, the Quadro solution means it’ll be certified for any CAD apps you need to run.

Build quality is pretty good, though the keyboard on mine is a little chintzy and sags in one corner.

The 1920x1200 resolution is great - gives you a huge amount of real estate for CAD windows. That alone would sell me on one over the other. But I’ve used Dell laptops for years and have never had any hardware issues that made me unhappy, we simply switched from Dells to HP’s at work so thats why I migrated.

running hp 8710w quadro 3600m T8300 (2.4 GHz) 4 gb ram with solidworks 07 and aliasstudio 08. happy with it so far, though i haven’t rendered any photoworks/maxwell or animation in alias. alias real time shade seems to work fine.

but battery life is about 1.5 hours if i’m doing cad. and the ac/dc adapter is big and heavy but not too hot. cooling fan works quietly and occasionally, not continuously. keyboard feel is on the spongy side when keys are pushed, but screen hinge, trackpad, buttons, ports all seem to be top quality. hd failed when machine was three days old but i can’t blame hp for that.