delivering a design you can't build

I’m guessing this is a situation that doesn’t happen with the folks here very much since ID is so tied to manufacturing, but I’m guessing some might have experiences to share…

I’m a ID/IXD grad student in an area where there is no ID industry. I’ve been trying to take on freelance type projects, which usually end up being one-off builds. For example, I’m currently working on a pedicure station for a local salon. The design process is all fine and good, but then I have to figure out how to actually make the thing. I don’t have much in the way of shop skills due to my educational path, and even if I did, I could only make a mockup, not a structurally sound, usable product.

So I guess my question is where do I go from here? Has anyone else been in this situation? Outsource the work to a contractor?

I’d really like to hear your thoughts, experiences.

If you’re trying to make an actual product then the answer would be to either learn, or give it to someone else.

Most pedicure stations seem to be wood? If you don’t have the shop to build it yourself then find a local carpenter who would be interested.

There are specialized firms that take on this kind of work. Usually for retail/POP, used to doing weird/odd/different projects and building/delivering. Check out Crack (a division of IDL Worldwide) or Built Design.

I’m a ID/IXD grad student in an area where there is no ID industry.

Jesse, do you mean to tell me, that just on the other side of the Wabash River, up on the hill, there aren’t any industrial design students with the skills to assist you in the development of your project? :open_mouth:

Barring that incomprehensible situation … Chicago is 125 miles to the north. And if you want to keep it back home in Indiana…

Catalyst

Impulse Product Development

Impressive Prototypes, LLC

A) give the plans to your client, let them take care of it after the plans are finalized