Degrees and Switching Career Advice Please

Hi Guys
This is my first time here and I hope this is the right place to post this question. I need some advice about switching careers… A little background info about me, I got my BFA in Media Arts from Pratt Institute and I have been working as a Graphic Designer/Illustrator in the fashion industry ever since. I worked briefly as a footwear designer and since then I knew ID was what I really was passionate about. I want to end up designing Athletic footwear or Toys. My question is what in your opinion should my next step be, a Masters in ID? or should I take a few core classes? or start from scratch with a BFA?(which is my least favorite choice), should I be looking for internships or entry level positions?, do companies hire ID designers with other design degrees? I think if I knew now what I knew then I would have most certainly majored in ID at Pratt ,which I notice is one of the few schools in NYC that offer BFA and MFA degrees. Since I am alumni I can audit classes for pretty cheap( last I checked it was $200) but they wouldn’t be for credit or a degree. I tried to talk to a career counselor but scheduling an appointment is very complicated, so any advice is very appreciated. Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

No matter what you decide to do, keep updating and improving your portfolio on a constant basis. The better your book looks, the more opportunities will come your way. This is a competitive field, but the great equalizer and qualifier is your portfolio and what it demonstrates about you as a designer.