Decisions on schooling!!!

Hey I’m new to the board but I am in desperate need of some guidance!

I am a graduate from and American university with a BSc Degree in Business Administration with a concentration in Marketing and International Business. I have studied abroad twice to both England and Germany and I am now looking at going back to school for Industrial Design and I wouldn’t be opposed to moving abroad.

I am a self-taught woodworker, I like to work with my hands, and I have made most every piece of furniture in my house, but sadly I have no formal design background. I really want to pursue a career in industrial design and using it to design products, packaging, and solving problems.

Currently, I am living in Colorado but I am willing and able to move anywhere in order to get a great education.

A few things I’d like to know are:

Should I go with a Masters in ID or should I get a bachelors? Also, what are the pros/cons to doing each?

Should I stay in the US or should I go abroad for a degree?

Are the design programs in Europe more theory or application?

What type of program should I be looking for?

What are everyones thoughts on “The Art Institute” programs?

Could I use my furniture in a portfolio?

What does a portfolio to apply to a school usually entail?

Any good schools that ya’ll would recommend?

ANY OTHER INFORMATION I SHOULD KNOW/LOOK FOR???

THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH and I look forward to hearing back!

hey-

nice to see yet another 2nd degree seeker. i’m a mechanical engineer, going into ID for fall 2011.

i can’t comment much on most of your questions, but regarding masters vs. bachelors, in my research the consensus was that a bachelors serves you better if you are switching careers and intend to be a designer. you learn the core skills more thoroughly. masters degrees are designed primarily for those who already have these skills, or people looking to diversify their careers towards design.