DAAP

Hello I’m looking at DAAP in Cincinatti and I was hoping for some feedback about its product design program

Hey Lueggoo,

I’m a third year ID student at UC. I couldn’t be happier with my choice and absolutely love the program. I realize, however, that UC is a respected school for the COOP program, and for that alone. The actual teaching pales in comparison to school such as Art Center or CSS at times, but since you spend half of time out in the field I believe it evens out. DAAP is also much more manufacturing based as opposed to theory based, so prepare to really immerse your self in the less glamorous side of design (materials, manufacturing processes, etc).

Also keep in mind that in-state tuition for DAAP is probably 1/4th or 1/3rd of what you’ll pay at art center or the like.

Cheers and good luck!

thanks for the reply! I was wondering, two things:
1- Have you done any internship?
2-I as interested in the school’s anthropology and archeology classes have you taken any?

Thank you again

Hello!

I’m a fourth year at DAAP, I think stefanussen is pretty much spot on - UC is a really practical, career based school.

The internships are nice - right now we’re required to do at least 5 quarter long internships before you graduate, preferably 6. I’ve gone to K-Swiss, Fisher-Price, and Adidas. The bummer is that they’re switching from quarters to semesters, which is going to completely screw everything up. I don’t know what’s going to happen in the next few years…

As far as anthropology and archeology, UC doesn’t really have the best academic classes. They’re fine, usually, but not amazing. I haven’t taken either of those classes (not 100% sure there even is an archeology class, maybe), but a friend of mine took anthropology and really enjoyed it. Still, I think she would have enjoyed it anywhere, you know?

Hope that helps.

hey I have a question as well-