D.A.E admission

hello… i’m new here

first of all i don’t really know whether to put this Q here or in portfolio section…

i’m a fresh graduate (from highschool) and i’m planning to go to nl to DAE,
Crying or Very sad there’s a long story why i didn’t apply in advance… T_T;; well , the short one is that they send the application form too late(they closed at febuary, but the form was arrived here almost march).

so i decided to take a year to study more of the ID basics, i’m a beginner in ID, my basic background is graphic design ( photoshop, illustrator, indesign works fine for me…). since i was a kid i always have a passion for design, also for products and industrial (but for these 2 i didn’t have a clue how to learn them)

i want to ask how advance my portfolio should be in order to be accepted there.
my ID sketches are quite poor, they are not loose, but just simple line (like illustration.
and i’m having a hard time learning 3D software( i have deskartes and alias studio tool)

advices please T_T;;

i also wonder which is better for ID, MAC or PC?

hope this helps. i sent my protfolio for last year’s admission. postponed my study year to this year.

i believe the school will like to see more of your ideas, your thought process etc. i remmeber they mentioned it in the aplication form.

i did a product design diploma a few yrs back, so i’m lucky to have a few designs to show without doing anything :wink:. i present it as a flow from research, to sketches to final design. did this for 2 products. on top of that, i showed some freelancing illustration works (and to show i have other interests too) All in about 10 pages.
the portfolio is a handmade one. i thread the papers together. everthing has a handmade feel and words handwritten.

i know a few guys who gets in by showing fine arts work and photography. its how you present yourself.