Cutting out a "door" on a surface in Rhino.

Dear Rhino users:

I am working on a project for my class… a washing machine/dryer combo and since I am new to Rhino, as intuitive as I am finding the software, I am getting stuck every now and then. Well, here is my current issue:

I am trying to create a “door” to the washing machine element of this unit and I don’t know which is the best tool to use. I have tried trim/split as well as wire cut, etc. When I use those features though, I get this nasty bunching up in the corner of my model! Not sure why. I am including images of what I am trying to do. So far, I have projected curves onto my surface in the shape that I want. The door to my washing machine will be a rounded square with a hole cut in the middle of it, as shown . That hole in the middle will be the glass window of the washing machine door. I hope I am explaining myself well.

What tools in Rhino should I use that will give me a better result other than trim/split? How else would you guys create this “door”, if you had to?

By the way, that “bunching/crinkling” effect that shows in my model, doesn’t show up until AFTER I start to cut into the walls of that solid. How else would would a door be created on a model or give the effect of a door there? Oh, and the door will not open when I render it in Keyshot. It will just be closed for now, at least. :slight_smile: I know for sure that to render in Keyshot, all the parts have to be separate layers, (that door will be a different material than the rest of the unit) so that door has to be cut out and put on a separate layer, so I need help guys.

Thanks so much.

CJ

Bunching up may just be your mesh settings:

Try going to Mesh>Render Mesh Properties…

Then the Document Properties box pops up.

There you set Render mesh quality to “Smooth @ slower.”

Thanks MP designer, I hadn’t known about that setting.