Custom RV design software switching from AutoCAD LT to 3D

Hello,

I was wondering if anybody has some advice for me. I’m a student worker for a custom Recreational Vehicle manufacturer. We only do 5th wheels and Travel Trailers. I’ve been here for over a year now and we’ve been using AutoCAD LT which is similar to AutoCAD 2000i (what I was trained on years ago). Anyway… getting to the point… the CEO put me in charge of picking out a new 3D software package that would allow us to draw the basic outside walls, floor, and the interior cabinets so that our cabinet shop didn’t spend so much time trying to interpret our 2D cabinet drawings. Here are the 3D programs I’ve looked at but seem to not quite work for us:

Solidworks
ProE
Autodesk Inventor
Autodesk Revit

I’ve looked at Catia a little, but not enough to make a judgement call. I need help here because we can’t afford to spend days drawing up these cabinets, but we need them to be accurate enough to build. Each customer we take on is a custom job… it would be easier if we just had a new model every year but that’s a no go. If that were the case, any of the afore mentioned software packages would have worked. If anybody know’s of any software that may best suit our needs… please let me know.

Thanks

my experience is with Pro/E. very little with SW. and have only sat over a Catia ops shoulder.

i wouldnt consider Catia. costly. esp for what you want. Pro and SW could easily do what you need. i won’t go into details b/c you should really research cost/benefit for yourself. you can get demos from the companies and see what you like. better than the opinions you’ll get here which are usually one-sided.

might also download the Rhino3D demo. it could be just what you’re looking for. and is cheaper and easier to use than most anything.