Currently ME - how to start in ID?

I’m thinking more and more I don’t want to go back to being just a CAD monkey making aluminum boxes.

I want to move towards ID, but I don’t know how to really get started. I think the first step is to go back to school and get a degree in ID, but I don’t know if I should get a master’s or start over and get a bachelor’s in ID.

I have no experience or portfolio other than an ArtCenter at Night class, and some random doodling. My engineering design work (the projects where I was allowed to be creative) are the possession of the military as well as the previous company I worked for, but I’ve got almost 7 years of design experience.

Any ideas?
Thanks.

perhaps do a short foundation course to get your drawing skills and creative juices flowing then try and get in to a masters in ID.

Alot of design firms actually have postions for ME’s (I believe the head Design Analyst of Design Continuum has a ME background rather than an ID background.), so that’s something you might want to check out, though you may end up being a CAD jockey there, too.

Best of luck.

I’m in the same boat, only I still have a year of school in ME to finish. I’m working for an industrial designer in a local engineering firm, and trying to find an internship in a true design firm. A portfolio is on my to-do list, but it’s hard to put something together when I have been at this for such a short time.

Is it possible to get into a graduate program in ID without a IDBA? I’d assumed you need to work your way up to learn some of the basics involving ways of thinking and how to solve problems. I don’t like the idea of being behind on my first day of class…

Thanks for your replies.

Go speak to the admissions people…or the tutors to see if you could get straight in.

most reputable schools won’t let you into a grad program without a bachelors, with the notable exceptions of Pratt and IIT.