creative/entrepreneurial guy with an MBA wants to do design?

I know similar questions have been asked a million times, but i will ask again, because i think my situation is different…

I have a bachelors in business, and an MBA in Entrepreneurship/Marketing from an OK school. I have always been passionate about design/color/texture, and always have been very 3D-oriented (i did sculpting for fun when i was a kid, making cars, houses, other objects with modeling clay and so on) I’ve been considering doing design for a while, but its a little scary in terms of switching around, yet i really want to do it.

I guess i am trying to figure out if

a. i should go to a masters program such as IIT’s that will teach the foundation to me, in addition to grad courses.
b. if my background makes sense with a design degree…

I don’t envision really working for a large corporation/consultancy after graduation, but instead doing something more entrepreneurial, like developing and marketing my own products/concepts/etc. Does that make sense?

there are literally hundreds of excellent designers currently looking for work…i would suggest that you consider teaming up with one and co-develope a project of mutual interest…you could start by searching coroflot…this would give you real world experience in product design and you might find out where your real interest and talent is…

I think that is a good sugestion.

I also think, esp. considering that you are not planning on working with other designers long term, that you should at least get a Masters from a school that teaches you how to manage the creative proccess.

There are plenty of designers with undergrads in business and masters in design, and vise-versa.

hmm interesting suggestions so far, any other opinions?

i just think that if i combine the creative part of the design with business skills, it will come out well…

creativity is everywhere, succesful people in any discipline are generally creative.