Cranbrook for Graphic Design

I’ve been reading with interest the recent threads about Cranbrook’s 3D Design program. I’m actually thinking about applying to the Graphic Design program, which they call 2D. I’ve looked at the department web site and done some research into alumni of the program and am quite impressed so far. Can anyone here tell me more? Are there any current or recent students on this board?

As a current 3d student I chose to take an elective in the 2d department just becuase of the head Elliot Earls. It also considered one of the best departments at Cranbrook if not the best…

Thanks, Frank. Can you tell me a bit more about the program and why it’s considered so good? Also, what’s an elective at a school without classes? What did you learn? How?

There was an article about the 2D Design department in the Italian magazine Sugo a couple of years ago. It went into the department’s philosophy, the kinds of students who go there, and what the work looks like. Maybe you can find the back issue online somehow.

Okie, I found the back issue for you in PDF form:

http://www.theapolloprogram.com/Pages/pdfs/CranbrookGDsugo.pdf

Let me know what you think.

hold up, the head of the department is a performance artist???

someone plz explain to me what that has to do with graphic design!

im confused.

Cookie cutters are so pragmatic.

I don’t know about cookie cutters, but I just found some info on the latest thesis show here:

Pragmatic? I don’t think so.

I’m very interested in Cranbrook’s program, philosophy, and the people there. I’m thinking about applying next year and have started putting together my portfolio. Trouble is, I don’t have an undergrad degree in graphic design. Will that hurt my chances of getting in? Can anyone here tell me what the school will be looking for in an application? What kinds of applicants tend to get accepted? What can I do in the next six months to strengthen my portfolio?