Cover letters when applying for ID job

Hi everyone, I am a recent Industrial Design Graduate and have been making a list of places to apply for. What I noticed is alot of companies require a cover letter. I don’t really know what they look for in a cover letter and most examples of coverletters online are not design related let alone industrial design related.

Could anyone give me insight on what makes up a good cover letter?
How it is structured?
Key things to mention or talk about?
The usual length?
Should it look plan text format or have graphical design elements to it?

Thank you in advance for your insights, I think this is a topic alot of young designers want to know more about.

Here’s the last one I wrote. Not really sure what else to say but I got the job. Might be worth noting I’ve identified areas I want to progress in too, not just said “I can do everything”!

I think I copied a couple of paragraphs into the email I sent my teaser/taster portfolio on the back off. Don’t make unnecessary work for yourself!

Damn, download failed, I’ll edit this post tomorrow, sorry!

ok great, I look forward to seeing it, thank you very much

My cover letter for any job:

Paragraph 1:
Introduce myself

Paragraph 2:
Why I want to work for them and how my experience relates to this. Depending on the job, maybe what I’m hoping to learn in the position.

Paragraph 3:
Point for point explanation of how I have the skills and/or experience listed in the job description, structured into a coherent and flowing thought.

It’s worked well so far.

Do a search here on the boards. I know this has been asked and answered before. Key points-

1. Address it to someone specific if you can (do your research).
  2. Be sure to proof well and have no typos or slang.
  3. Make it specific and relevant to the position and job (don’t write about your UI experience if you are applying for a furniture design job).