could use some opinion

This is my first attempt at a portfolio and coroflot site. I tried to design it to match my resume and sample sheet. I realize the quality isn’t very high but I wanted some opinion. Yea I realize it sucks but it can only get better right?

first of all, never tell anybody your work sucks, if you say it sucks, then it sucks.

you have some good ideas in there, and your sketching/rendering is not the worst i’ve seen at the inital/quick concept level.

second, focus your portfolio for the level of employment you want. For an internship, show lots of ideation capabilities. Skethcing, foams, other mock up techniques, concept variation.

third, if you can incorporate more CAD into your process, it shows you are skiled and flexible. Many places don’t expect you know everything, but able to learn quickly and make real contributions in a mature way-

fourth, brush up on speed and quality.

Think more about layout, and compactness of presentation.

my two cents

First of all thanks,

I plan on restructuring it because it hasn’t been updated in well over a semester. I will repost with your suggestions in mind.

second of all, no problem.

third of all thanks for posting, knowing your stuff needs work is step 1 to improving it.

b) work on your form. I was looking at a lot fo your studies and they are full of symbols of products instead of actual products. I scratched my head the first time one of my professors said this to me, but I slowly got it. For instance the phone sketches. Go to best buy or whatever and look at phones, No, really look at them. Numeric pads, directional pads, selection buttons, speaker vents, mic vents, pivots, everything is detailed, designed, considered (hopefully). Functions are groups, edges are champhered, radiused, sculpted. Make sure you take the time to design the details and not just draw oval shapes on a box (unless that is what you intend, by design)

point D, keep at it, it’s worth it.