Continuing Education in NYC

I’m looking to find some good Design research classes in NYC. I’m not sure which colleges are best for this, or if anyone has any recommendations. I would also like to take some sketching classes, as I’m always looking to improve. Any help is really really appreciated!

You are in luck.There are LOT of good schools in NY. Pratt institute (Brooklyn and Manhattan campuses) and Parsons, which has courses in product design… I wonder if NYU has anything?There is probably stuff on Long Island too.

Pratt definitely has classes at night that are mostly taken by grad students prepping for the ID program. You can take drawing, cad, and possibly an intro product design class.

Like taxguy said, there are lots of options. You can also take classes at FIT that will be cheaper than the others.

Good luck,
Josh

Hey AUindd,

I am currently a Pratt ID student and I know of a directed research class that one of my professor’s teaches. I just heard there is also a drawing class being taught this summer if you’re interested.

If you have any more questions you can PM me and I can let you know about other classes and things around NYC.

Hope this helps.

P.S. looks like me and Josh Eyre both went to Pratt and joined core the same day, but I don’t know the dude…spooky.

I graduated in December… Had Skalski for studios in 06/07 and November last fall. There’s no way you didn’t see me around. You just finished up Junior, right? What studio did you take in the Fall?

EDIT: I just looked at your coroflot page and think I remember seeing your binocular drawing up in the fall, so are you a sophomore? If so, it’s less likely that you ever saw me.

Hey thanks for the replies! So if you had to chose a school for design research, which one would you go to? Ideally the class would teach research strategies and synthesis.