continue studying?

Hi everyone,

Happy New year core77.

I need some advice about potentially changing design disciplines. I am currently in my last year of Industrial Design (honours) which is a 4 year program. I deferred for a year because I wasn’t sure if industrial design was what I wanted to do. However, I have gone back to stick it out in order to get a qualification.

It has only been the last 3 months that i have discovered my true passion/talent, which is interior decorating.

My question is, is it worth getting a certificate III or diploma in interior decorating when I am graduating in the next year with a bachelor of design?

Would I be gaining any more skill if I completed a second qualification in this field? or would i have enough skills without a diploma to be employed as a decorator?

Cheers.

I know many people who studied industrial design and ended up doing other things in their careers. The same goes for people who didn’t study design, but ended up working in design. The design education you are getting in ID will translate to other design fields, you might just need to fill in the gaps. A certificate might help, but I would suggest looking for an internship. There’s nothing like experiencing the real deal. The internship will also help you to understand the profession (interior design) so that you can figure out what skills you need to work on. Nobody graduates with all the skills that a job requires, the majority of the learning happens with experience.

If you want to be an INTERIOR DECORATOR, I’d say your ID degree would more than qualify you to find a job at any department store, furniture, bath, or discount building supply company.

On the other hand, if you want to pursue INTERIOR DESIGN, you would benefit from more specific training; in fact you wouldn’t get very far without it.

I’ll leave it up to you to determine the difference between the two fields.