considering a minor

I am currently a student at Savannah College of Art and Design and considering there marine design program. Being from Seattle, Wa, water and boats is a big part of my life style.

But I dont want to loose out on the different electives that are offered. Such as… Maya, advance rendering (photoshop and illustrator), and 3d studio max.

Rhino and Alias studio are part of the curriculum, so i will be learning these programs.

How important are knowing these programs apon graduating and out in the work place? Would it be better for me not to minor in Marine design and to take these other classes to improve my overall portfolio?

Is Tom still the head of Marine Design?

Depends on what you want to do- do you really want to design aquatic lifestyle products? SCAD is getting a great reputation in that niche- several grads right now are designing uber-luxury yachts, kayaks, and the like. You’re sure to get at least one sponsored project if you take the minor- Hobie just came to SCAD recently. That project, whatever it may be, may lead to an internship, contacts, leads, or at least direct exposure to the marine design field - which is great for portfolio.

Not knowing Maya won’t hold you back at all… whatsoever. I would argue that knowing Maya is more or less useless for ‘the real world’. Same with 3d studio. You need to use 3D modeling to communicate, not replicate real world environments. Sketching is still the best communication tool.

Learning Rhino and Alias is all you’ll really want to learn-- you do not want to graduate with an industrial design degree and become a cad monkey.

Take advanced rendering with Morris. It’s boring, but you’ll learn a lot.