Computer Recomendations

I need some advice - I am a student at Art Center - studying product design. I need to get a new computer. my current laptop is old, slow and unreliable. I want to get a computer that i will use just for work - school now and later professional. therefore i need a computer that is quick and good with design software and will grow with me and technology changes.
What kind of computer would be the best to get?
I would prefer a PC.
Money is an issue… but if you think something is really worth the extra coin… i would love to hear about it.
Should I get a desktop??? I prefer laptops - but it seems that i can get more for my money with a desktop.
PLEASE HELP.
I need to know brands and models
Thanks!

A Dell workstation like a Precision would be upgradable down the road. Laptops are not that easy to upgrade whereas desktops have a lot of room to add things later.

just make sure you get a PCI Express motherboard. AGP is dead.

A fellow designer and I have been having this same discussion lately as we are trying to get funds from our bosses for new computer hardware. Ive been doing a lot of research and I honestly think that there are only two really good computers that come premade, for anything else I would go custom.

Alienware Workstations:
http://www.alienware.com/main_creative_pro.aspx

These workstations are deadly fast compared to other machines and are fine-tuned to handle applications like 3D Studio, they give you comparisons to other machines like Dell XPS. They are expensive but you get what you pay for. I would also recommend getting one with dual processors, preferrably 64bit.

Boxx Workstations:
http://www.boxxtech.com/asp/1workstations.asp

Boxx also makes awesome machines that are built for industrial designers, 3D artists, etc. These are on par with Alienware and as such will also cost you to get one. I know several people who have these and swear by them.