Competitor Interview Project Request

Is anyone in agreement over my initial reaction that this is an unacceptable request?

• Yes
  • No

0 voters

I would like to hear your opinions on this.

I have 5 years experience in my field of Design and recently went through a process of 3 interviews with a competitor, it went very well and they had said they would make an offer (Saying that I was the main candidate, etc.). Then instead of an offer I have been asked to design an project because they want to “see my design style”. Keep in mind they’ve seen my portfolio which is very complete.

1. The main thing I question is the legality of this request, I don’t think I can do any work for them since I would essentially be delivering designs, breaking non-compete and confidentiality.
  2. I’m uneasy about being asked to do work for no pay to get a job, I’ve done it before but that was on the basis that I had little experience.
  3. The request is not a small one, it is probably a solid week of work at least compared to what I work on currently.

nope, don’t do it. asking for spec work isn’t very typical for a job interview, and with the added factor of them being a competitor it doesn’t seem right.

i’d explain as such to them on the ethical issue and would be surprised if they pushed it further. Try to flip the situation around to get them to understand- that is, if you were working for them and was off someplace else doing work for their competitor)

R

If you have a non-compete agreement how are you going to be able to work for the new guys? Usually those types of agreements extend beyond your current employment period. You’d better read the fine print if you signed a non-compete agreement.

Look at what’s happening at Apple these days…

The project would be geared toward the products they sell?