Comparison for Graduate Industrial Design Program

Hi, please give your oponion for the Graduate Industrial Design Program between the following schools:

ACCD, RISD, PRATT, SAIC, SCAD, RIT, ASU

The more detailed, the better.

You can talk about the difference of the program focus, the reputation, future job potential, professor, environment, equipment, quality…etc. Anything you heard of / experienced is fine!

I was curious as to why UC is not a choice for you (not advocating, just seems to be a likely contender in list that large). Also, what is your background (again curious)?

Sorry I can’t comment on a program from experience…

Yes, u r also welcome to talk about UC. It’s just to share some info about program & differences of the school which has ID program from someone who knows some. Then that will give some reference.

And for the answer to ur 2nd question, what I can say is I’m a designer who is considering of having Mater Degree in ID program.

Has anybody have any idea?

Carnagie Mellon’s Masters program isn’t on your list, why not consider them as well?

Some of the lag might be because this has been talked about a lot. Read through the threads, using the search feature helps.

It usually helps if you ask a specific question rather than an open ended one…

…but I’ll take the opportunity to sound off on Pratt anyway.

As most most know Pratt MID is mostly for career changers. Most candidates have undergrad degrees in areas that are ostensibly helpful in the study of ID: Art, Architecture, Engineering, Social Sciences etc. People tend to miss that point in the whole Masters versus undergrad debate. That being said, grads often struggle to get their skills up (drawing, 3d, model making). Lately everyone seems to be more aware of this and most of work to plug up any holes in our skill set.