Comparing rhino and pro E for use at a university?

I am quite new to both packages and have been asked to compare the two programs. The programs are currently used for product design and in this comparison i need to say which would be more suitable for future students on my course. I would be interseted to listent to your opinions about the two peices of software, and which you think is beter and why.
thanks
simon

They are 2 completely different tools

Rhino is a NURBS surface modeller. Pro/E is a parametric 3D modelling package.

NY design guy is right. They are two different tools. Since you seem to be a professor, I assume you knew that already!

I think we all can only offer out opinions here, and here is mine.

I think ProE or SolidWorks is more valuable as a students first 3D design program. They will be able to do technical drawings for working in the shop, export easily to rapid prototyping, and its very useful to know in the real world. I’ve seen job postings requesting SolidWorks increasing rapidly, and those asking for Rhino/Alias decreasing in the last 1-2 years.

Also, Pro or SW do have surfacing ability. You can still teach your students the basics of surface modeling, so they won’t be completely ignorant of it. The students who are more advanced in form development may wish to continue on there own and learn Rhino or Alias on the side. I would certainly encourage that.

To give a little background, I graduated three years ago. I didn’t have a strong 3D solids background, and I found it tough. I took a class in SolidWorks and found a job within 6 months. I’m not saying that it is a secret to post-graduate success, but it certainly helps to have all the tools one needs to succeed.