Communication Skills

Hello everyone,

A quick intro - I am a second year ID student. I’ve known about this board for a while and have been reading a few threads that interest me for the past couple days…

Now, the reason why I’m posting is because I have a question. This might be an unusual question so I’m not sure what kind of answers to expect but here it goes…

This is something I’ve been suspecting for a while but recently it’s become more and more clear that a strong communication skill is essential for ID… it’s not all about making pretty renders and coming up with smart solutions to problems. And after going through a few assignments and projects this year, it’s pretty clear to me that my verbal communication skills… well, frankly suck. i admit it. This is kind of dorky and I feel embarrassed to say but I guess I’m just one of those shy people who aren’t very good with communicating and socializing with others.

My technical design skills, on the other hand, are coming along nicely and I feel comfortable with where I’m at (relative to my peers), although that’s not to say I’m satisfied because I know I still have a long way to go in this area too. But really I see my communication skills to be seriously lacking and I’m not so sure what I can do to turn this around.

I know that leaving positive impressions in interviews are critical for landing a job in this field (and getting along with the design team afterwards) and my lack of communication skill leaves me pretty worried to say the least.

So I have two separate questions about this:

1. How do you (you can be honest) feel about people who have poor verbal communication & socializing skills in the ID field? Would you be willing to hire/work with them if they have solid technical skill sets? Do you think that ID is for them in the first place?

Don’t get me wrong… I love ID and am committed to doing whatever I can in order to work as an ID professional in the future regardless of the answers.