COLORWAYS and MATERIALS: how do i get into this?

I’m a recent ID grad working at a product firm in NYC. I am interested in picking colorways and materials for sneakers…does anyone know how i can get into this?

I’m interested in mixing materials and innovation in the materials and color realm.

um please excuse the sarcasm but you just pick the colors and materials you want and call them out in some kind of line art for the shoes, or in a “Bill of Materials” or SRF (specs and references sheet).

There is no “database” for colors or materials. Most factories can reproduce any color from Pantones to copying existing colors on existing styles. AS for materials your best off finding examples of the ones you want out in the market (in clothing, or existing shoes for example) and send sample swatches to the factories as a reference.

A good hint to doing colors and materials is to have a theme that references the wants and desires of your customer, teh wearer or the retailer.

I hope this helps. Colorways are the most time consuming, yet intuitive, yet personalized and frustratring part of footwear and softgoods. I used to have a six to one colorway ratio. Meaning that I’d “color-up” six options to get one good colorway. So if I had a line requirement of three skus in one style, I’d color up 18, so I would have enough of a selection to choose from.

Kiana, are you asking how to get inot this full time?

If so, some companies have color designers as well as material designers. Usually they will have a background in graphics or ID. It is a pretty cool job. I find color to be one of the most critical aspects of footwear, it can either really bring the design out, or make it look like a dog.

thanks, yo. i wanted to know if there was the possibility of just doing graphics and colors for shoes…and how i could go about getting into it…

p.s. two good sneaker sites are : freshnessmag.com, and crookedtongues.com