Clay BMW M3 model

Hey everyone,
This is a BMW M3 model I’ve been working on. It’s my first one ever, so it’s not the greatest. Its about 7.5" X 3.5" X 2.5." Pretty small. Any suggestions?
I’m not sure if I put this in the right thread… correct me if it’s not.

Thanks!
Dave

For being so tiny, it’s not bad. I wish I had more feedback for you, but I have no experience with modeling clay. I did pots and sculpting in high school, but I don’t think it’s applicable.

Give us an some context:
Where are you at in terms of age/schooling/training?
what is this for, fun/school project/etc?

My quick thoughts are that it is pretty decent, but you should consider a bigger scale to get more detail/resolution. The right tools, could help you clean this up a little further too.

If you don’t get much response here, I would consider posting on the forum at car design news:

http://forums.cardesignnews.com/eve/forums/a/frm/f/31060927

if you dig through the forum you can find some good tips and techniques buried in there.

you also might want to check out:

http://www.chavant.com/chavant_ob/index.shtml

I’m 18, currently going to uconn for mechanical engineering, but I want to switch over to wonderful ID. :slight_smile: Never had any class with clay or sculpture, this was just pure experimentation. I was told some 3D work would work well for my portfolio, so I made this.

Thanks

Is that Chavant clay (industrial modeling clay)? By the color, it looks like it. But, as mentioned above, you need tools (racks, flexible sheet metal, etc.). Not bad at all. Good symmetry.

Here is a low budget modeling (school project). I had no money to buy the real tools but was able to find some regular modeling tools from hobby stores to make this car. Obviously, depending what school you will attend, they will show you the right way. In my case, I learned by myself, reading books and then learned more from my internships at BRP. My school had no courses for that.