Choosing the right software

Hi,

I’m a graphic artist (2d/3d).

The company I work for want me to design a console which will cover marine equipment (radar/ECDIS).
Here is an example of such console:

http://www.furuno.co.jp/en/product/marine/details_images/d-fea_2807.jpg

Which software should I use for this job? I usually work in 3ds max, but I think I need some industrial design program in this case. The model will be probably sent to some manufacturing company, so I don’t think 3ds max model will do. Besides I saw on youtube how process of creation 3d models in ID software looks like, and I think it is much faster then modeling in 3ds max using polygonal / sub-d modeling.

One more thing - I’ve noticed that ID software allows for quick prototyping and quick changes in model structure. I’m making a concept / prototype, so I know there will be a lot of changes and ideas from other people/engineers in my company. Making such changes in 3ds max models (poly/sub-d) is pretty difficult/time consuming.

I will really appreciate a quick help - I’m a little bit in a rush.

Thanks a lot.

My suggestion , if it is for only one project is it out source the 3D modeling.

Chevis W

this is hard to answer because you probably won´t have the time learning the software since you are already in a rush.
a lot of the parametrical 3d software is quite expensive. you shouldn´t just look at your need for this project but also what you want to do with it later on.

have a look at solidworks, it is comparably easy to learn and can do a lot!
maybe when you tell us more about your situation, we can give you more tipps!

but for now outsourcing or a freelance 3d modeller seems like a good idea, especially if time is short already

greetings