Check your bag Now! Using pencil slots?

Check your bag right now. Are you currently using the pencil/pen slots?

• Yes.
  • No.

0 voters

Just a random questionnaire.

I am a full-time pack designer for several different markets (technology, lifestyle, fashion, etc).

I’ve found other softgoods designers are always consistently adding the obligatory pen/pencil slots in the front pocket at the very end of the design process.

This addition appears to be a habit than a well thought out design solution. For example, pen/pencil slots in round lacrosse equipment bags. As soon as the bag is filled, the pack conforms to its round shape, and the pens/pencils snap. Unnecessary.

Whenever I come in contact with someone using their daily/shoulder/messenger/business/lifestyle bag, I notice there are no pens in the slots whatsoever.

So… this leads to the question… if you check your laptop/daily/whatever bag that’s next to you right now, what will you find.

Appreciate your time.

pen/pencil slots are almost as much of an afterthought as those earphone rubber pass-thru holes every crap bag has. i’ve never seen anyone use them, and they’ve been on bags since the old walkman days.

kudos to you for thinking, before adding on more “features”.

R

Chrome Metropolis messenger bag. No pen/pencil holders available on this model, probably because they would break similar to the lacrosse bag.

I’ve never successfully used them, my pens were too big, or they fell out.
Same goes for cell phone holders.

I checked my bag, a olive green messenger from the Gap, I do use them, but only because I have a real problem losing pens, so I would make the point of putting them back as an accounting feature more than convience.