Career Change... to ID...?

I’m hoping someone experienced in the ID industry can point out a few directions that may be good for me.

I got my BS in Electrical Engineering and have been working in the corporate environment 4 years. I’m about half finished with my MBA. I don’t have any mentionable experience in design.

I’ve been contemplating going back to school for my BA in ID for the last three years. Because of my past education and job experience, I doubt I’ll finish the program. My ideal situation is to get the foundations in ID (some of these skills I want to develop for personal reasons/enjoyment) along with getting a solid footing in design. After this happens and I’ve got a few internships in, and hopefully my foot in the door somewhere, I’ll probably try to find a job.

I’d like to find a place in ID somewhere between engineering and design… and eventually management. I know I could try to go into management now, but I really want to study the subject… plus there’s nothing worse than someone managing something they know nothing about.

I don’t have dilussions of grandure about ID. I just want to be in the environment - even if it’s corporate.

Is the ID job market really that bad?

Thanks.

In my opinion, if you want to design products, you’ll need to get your ID degree. If you want to manage talent, I’d finish my MBA with a focus in marketing. It seems in a lot of the corporate gigs that I’ve had, the marketing department has a strong say in design if there isn’t a strong ID presence.

BA in Electrical Engineering, didn’t know there was such a thing as a Bachelor of Arts in that? Anywho I wouldn’t think this would be a step in the right direction for you the job market and outlook for a EE is outstanding no matter where you go. ID jobs will offer less in the way of salary and prospects. Some people are having a rough time makking enought change to pay the student loan bills.

Oops, I mean BS… I’ve got BA on the brain.