Career advice?

I am in an oddball situation, similar to the Cerevellum guy in the thread below. I’m not the founder, but am #3 in a startup. We launched in 2007 and landed product in 2009. Prior to landing in 2009, I gradually stopped designing and started helping the founder setup operations in the US. I’ve learned a lot about going from idea to launch to running a business.

Today, my main responsibility is running US operations, but after 4.5 years, I want to out, and want get back to ID… But there are a few things I have come across during my job search over the last year:

• ID job postings seem few and far in between (I’m in NYC, but am willing to relocate to LA).
  • When I apply to ID postings, I get no response. I know my portfolio needs work, so I’ve been updating and creating personal projects for almost 6 months now.
  • I’m getting the feeling that my non-traditional resume doesn’t help me (this has been my only “real” job after college). HR seems to be searching for the “perfect” candidate…this is my feeling after going on a couple non-design interviews and hearing feedback.

My lack of success is making me consider other options. The mobile industry interests me and is growing, so I am considering re-educating myself in interaction design, product management, or even project management. Which brings me to my questions,

1. What do you think of our future prospects as industrial designers?
  2. How much do you think ID employment is affected by the economy?
  3. How does interaction design employment compare?
  4. Any other thoughts?