Career advice sought

Firstly, I’d like to thank everyone here who has posted sincere advice and information. It’s great to know there are people like you all in the industry I want to get in to.

At present I’m studying custom shoemaking in Adelaide, Aust. in which everything is 100% handmade, we do the design, the pattern making and the construction ourselves (basically with a sewing machine and hand tools - it’s funny actually, I’ve seen a few posts about people wanting to get mock ups or pullovers made but not knowing where to go. I’ve got it down to about 3 or 4 days from initial design to trying on the finished shoe but that’s getting off point). While this is great and was really my only option for a shoe specific course in Aust. or back home in NZ I’m feelng more and more limited in not have any experience with computer design tools or even a formal design process which we don’t cover at all. i really want to move specifically into shoe design (as opposed to handmade) and so I’m planning to take a product design diploma at RMIT in Melbourne next year along with the 2nd year of the shoemaking course to get these skills.

My question is this - Am I kidding myself thinking I will be able to get employment in this industry as a designer having completed a two year handmade shoemaking course and a product design diploma? Coroflot is stacked with people who have far more impressive credentials than this. I’m not sure I can afford to commit 4 years to a degree when I’m already 25. Already I’m going to be older than most people applying for junior positions, is this going to count against me?

If anyone has any comments, advice or suggestions they would be very much appreciated.

Cheers
Tim

Tim

where do you want to work? in athletics or fashion footwear? In united states or Europe or etc. ?