Canadian looking for ID school

Hi,

I’m a 20 year old Canadian who’s currently studying in ID at Université de Montreal in Quebec, Canada(I’m a 1st year student currently). However I’m considering transferring next year to another ID school/program. I was wondering if you guys would have any suggestions for me as to a particularly interesting place to study? My main gripe about my program right now is language(it’s in French and I prefer English despite being perfectly bilingual) and that IMO it lacks a bit of technical aspects; therefore I’d like a program that’s a bit more Engineering oriented(but still classified as an ID program).

I’m willing to look at any school/establishment so long as the education is either in French or English(preferably English though) and assuming I am eligible to enter. Another bonus would be the presence of scholarships.

So far I’ve looked at Carleton in Ottawa and it looks ok, but I’ve really no idea where else to start looking :confused: As I said, I’m open to just about anywhere currently, I just don’t really know where to start looking…

Thanks in advance!

If you are looking for a little more tech but still ID try considering Humber college in Ontario Canada. they have a good balance between the various aspects of design. Art / Engineering / Manufacturing / marketing…

Chevis W

I have talked to a few students from Carleton and they are definately engineering based. I would say go with them if that is what you are looking for. I think the majority of the design schools in the east are relatively all close together?? I’d research a few and probably go there and take a tour. See what they are doing as far as projects. Also could just check on coroflot the projects the students are working on.

Side note… not sure how the school is with helping out with jobs after you graduate. My current job search has shown tons of jobs (compared to rest of canada) in the French sectors. So might be beneficial to stick with a French school?