Can the designer sell the original sketches?

Can a designer sell his/her original sketches on ebay or other outlet? I am a freelance designer so am not under the thumb of a corporation. We rarely sign contracts in my business so not under any legal liability too. Like if one designs something important, then do those original sketches have value?

Hmmm. Just want to get other professionals take on it.

thanks all!
B

Depends on who owns the sketches based on the contract. If sketches are not spelled out then who owns the Intellectual property (IP).

I wouldn’t, I don’t think it would come across as professional., whether the client owned it or not .

I’m a bit secret squirrel about my work, have to be in order to gain trust, 80% of my clients - I would never tell you that I was working for them.

If I was the client and I saw it on ebay, I’d think, ‘can I trust this person? What will they sell next?’

I second Shoenista. If there is no binding legal agreement, you are free to sell them. However, if one of your clients sees that you are selling this stuff, you will be seen as a back-stabber.

Another point is: how much do you think you can get for them? I would think that anything other than a sketch of a significant object (iPhone or something) wouldn’t be worth much.

On the other hand, if you are straight up with the clients and they have no prbs with it then that would be a different matter. . Im thinking like, ‘yo Sony client Buddy, guess what, you know those sketches I did for the Playstation a few years back? well guess what bud, Im gonna put them on ebay. But of course, if you have a problem with that I will give you first refusal.’ No seriously, if you talk it over with your client should be no problem.

I agree with the others. I was only answering the legal side. From the professional side it would be a disaster.