Buying a camera, advice?

So I will be starting my first year of grad school in a few weeks and am looking into buying a camera. I want quality but I’m also a broke-ass student. Not sure exactly what I will be needing as far as features go, reliable brands, blah, blah, blah…Any suggestions?

I think if you gave us an idea of what your budget is, it would be easier. I personally use my iphone for “quick” snap shot an use a Nikon D90 for photography. If you are looking for a DSLR, I suggest Nikon ( better optics). If you are looking for a pocket camera I have had Nikon, Canon and Fuji, and all were very good.

if you can’t afford a dslr, you may want to look at the prosumer cameras (canon G10, lumix lx3 etc…). for me, it is as good as a dslr. and the small size is a plus too for quick snaps and not-so quick snaps. Some newer models of pocket digi cameras takes really quality pictures too.

borrow the dslr from your school’s photo studio to take final presentation pictures.

I posted the exact same question a few months ago.
In the end 4 month ago after days of reading online reviews I got the Canon Rebel XSI 12. Mp . I am very I did. I Have not started school yet, or used it for that purpose but I am already taking Photography more seriously and enjoying it. I got two lenses, the EF 50mm 1:1.8 and the Zoom Lens EF-S 55-250mm.
Before getting it I had a point and shoot Casio Exilim, the quality of the photos now is so much better. The Rebel is more expensive but in the long term I think it is worth it.
I bought the cam and lenses separately ( I don’t live in the US) a friend got the camera at a store in Miami for me, and i got the lenses on Amazon , … Big mistake that cost me a few hundreds dollars a few weeks later the friend saw a kit with lenses for less than what I paid for the camera only . I think it was at Best Buy ,