Business Practices

This new forum will be devoted to the sharing of advice and council around conducting the business of design. From Dr Phil like advice to useable data facts and figures, we hope to create a forum that helps everyone in the design practice achieve greater success.

Feel free to create a topic or add your own experiences to the list that has started.
Although mostly geared around the consulting game, we are hoping many of the comments and back a forth should be of intest to Corporate and student designers as well.

Mark

Thanks to all for the responses so far and for the thoughtful nature of those expressed to date.

I’ve worked at a design company for the past 8 months and I can attest to how a successful working environment operates. My background is in public relations and advertising, and I work in marketing communications but I truly believe that what makes our company thrive is the rapport that the employers here have with each other. Design companies are not only about creativity, but also the ability to be creative with others, to bounces ideas and concepts back and forth; and the best way to acheive success in this is to have a flexible, friendly working environment based on collaboration and not competition.

very cool

I want to share some thoughts and I would love some advice. First I work at the largest high end bicycle mfg’r in the world. It is a truly dynamic company that functions under some very sound business practices. ID has grown from 4 to 12 in the last 4 years. Or group is populated by ex-director level consultant types, seasoned corporate veterans and a handful of newbies. Our presence is not only sought after but used as a sales tool for the great dealer network and end users.