Bradford University

Hi, I am studying Industrial Design at The University Of Bradford and I am currently in my third year. This link ( http://www.eng.brad.ac.uk/intranet/outlines/index.php?page=design/iidcc ) takes you to my module catalogue from which you can find details of each module by clicking the ‘D’. All my modules are from Major Design Project**
down. I was just wondering what you think about these modules, are they common? Personally I thought in my final year I would be doing projects, not this stuff, as I exceed in my design projects getting firsts and 2:1’s and this all brings my marks down to a low 2:2. Let me know what you think please.

im confused as to what you’re asking.

seems like some good courses, or “modules”,
especially the manufacturing and the engineering ones.

Sorry if it’s not clear. I have looked at other final year content in the UK, and the majority seems to made up mainly of:

• Major Project
• Managing Product Innovation
• Industrial Design
• Ergonomics
• Industrial Design Methods
• Future Design
• Industrial Design Technology
• Mechatronic and Air Systems Design
• Graphics
• Environmentally Sensitive Design
or
• Emerging Technology
• Ethics & Philosophy
• Major Project
• Minor Project
or
“The final year includes modules in conceptual design, competitions and a major project and dissertation.”

This stuff seems more interesting and not as much engineering. The department my course is in is engineering, and I was wondering whether the modules I take are similar to what others in ther final year of uni do? Just that the similar things to other courses we do such as the projects i gain high marks and the engineering stuff poor marks (not good) thus my final mark suffers, does everyone do as much exams and engineering or just people doing engineering?