Biomechanics used in the design process

Hey guys long time reader first time poster.

Basically my background is working for the largest Sports retailer in Australia as the technical footwear trainer.

I teach all staff about the biomechnics of the human lower body and overall technology’s of all brands and suppliers.

I am an kind of like an EKIN for all brands.

The question I have is what influence to the biomechanists have on the design process? I know there are a few guys here who work for the big suppliers.

So basically do you design based on existing technologies and biomechanic principles or do you work directly with biomechanists to design the new technology?

I have seen alot of feedback coments to newer designers about thinking about where the company is headed and thinking outside of the box.

How much of that is done in the true brand designs that make it to the shelf?

I have been exposed to some of the Asics design process as one of the head designers is based in Australia along with the podiatrist who consults for them and from what I understand it is kind of a 2 part process.

Just wanted to hear your thoughts on this.

cheers

Steve

work with the NSRL all the time to develop better ways to improve the foot/shoe/ground dynamic relationship:

http://www.nike.com/nikebiz/nikebiz.jhtml?page=6&item=research

Yo, thanks for the response.

in your case is it a matter of the deign process working around the research or is the research imputed after a rough asthetic design?
or is it a case by case basis for each model?

It’s a bit more collaborative. The designs we work on together are focused on concept and function. Ideas will be generated, samples then tested. The testing provides data that leads to totally different ideas. After a bunch of go rounds, the design evolves.

Hi jugglie

I can answer your question from the perspective of a doctor and running shoe researcher independent of the big manufacturers.