Billable hours & bonus structure

It has been a while since I was an employee of a consultant and I’m trying to remember expectations for billables. What are the practices that you folks know/remember?

This is what I recall from my last job, 19(?) years ago. Obviously, any billables reported must match the PO. If a job was 100 hours and I did 105 hours on it, the 5 hours didn’t count. If I spent only 95 hours, I was credited for 100. The expectation was I was within 5% within the PO. The overall expectation was 1,500 hours annually. Bonuses over the 1500 were structured like this (I think).

1500-1750 hours = number of hoursbillable rate20% = bonus amount So if I did 1600 hours, 100 hours*$125/hour20% = $2,500
1750-2000 hours = number of hours
billable rate*30%

2000 hours = number of hoursbillable rate40%

I am fuzzy on the minimum number of expected hours, also depended on your position with more senior you got, the more hours expected. And I am fuzzy on on the levels and exact percentage of payout. Nobody was dinged on less than the 1500, but it was a discussion in your performance review.

Iab, I’ve never worked at a consultancy that was this transparent.

No bonus structure on on billables? Seemed pretty straightforward to me at the time and assumed it was normal.

My reason for asking is there is a bit of need for tracking hours in the current corporate gig. It is certainly not the norm here to do so and if we do implement a tracking system, I’m pushing a wifm for the employees. What’s in it for them if they exceed expectations. The only pushback I have gotten from HR is that for exempt employees, is this considered OT? At a small firm, that was an acceptable risk, in the corporate world, maybe not.